Connect with us

Rugby U

Girls’s Six Nations: Eve Higgins to make Eire debut in Wales opener – NEWPAPER24




Girls’s Six Nations: Eve Higgins to make Eire debut in Wales opener

2021-04-08 13:15:15


Higgins has starred for Eire at Sevens stage
Venue: Arms Park, Cardiff Date: Saturday, 10 April Kick-off: 17:00 BST
Protection: Watch reside on BBC iPlayer and BBC Sport web site; comply with reside textual content commentary on the BBC Sport web site and app.

Eire Sevens again Eve Higgins will make her Six Nations debut at centre in Saturday’s opener towards Wales in Cardiff.

Head coach Adam Griggs has additionally included uncapped backs Emily Lane and Stacey Flood in his 23-player squad.

Eimear Considine returns at full-back with Beibhinn Parsons lining out on the left within the different two adjustments from Eire’s win over Italy in October.

Eire didn’t have a match final weekend, with Wales crushed by France.

Higgins, capped 20 occasions for Eire Sevens, companions Sene Naoupu in midfield with Hannah Tyrrell and Ulster’s Kathryn Dane retained at half again.

Whereas Higgins’ fellow Sevens internationals Flood and Lane are named among the many replacements, there isn’t a place for Grace Moore or Amee-Leigh Murphy Crowe, the highest strive scorer within the 2019 World Rugby Sevens.

Lindsay Peat, Cliodhna Moloney and Linda Djougang line out within the entrance row with captain Ciara Griffin main the aspect at quantity eight.

“We’re extraordinarily assured within the squad we’ve chosen,” stated Griggs.

“We now have had an excessive amount of time to arrange collectively and this group of gamers have earned the accountability to carry the excessive requirements we’ve set ourselves all through coaching into this primary sport.

“Wales at house will carry a robust problem and we want to verify we begin the sport properly and construct a platform that enables us to play our sport and begin this competitors off with a win.”

Eire: Eimear Considine (Munster); Lauren Delany (Sale Sharks), Eve Higgins (Leinster), Sene Naoupu (Leinster), Beibhinn Parsons (Connacht); Hannah Tyrrell (Leinster), Kathryn Dane (Ulster); Lindsay Peat (Leinster), Cliodhna Moloney (Wasps), Linda Djougang (Leinster), Aoife McDermott (Leinster), Nichola Fryday (Connacht), Dorothy Wall (Munster), Claire Molloy (Wasps), Ciara Griffin (Munster).

Replacements: Neve Jones (Ulster), Katie O’Dwyer (Leinster), Laura Feely (Connacht), Brittany Hogan (Ulster), Hannah O’Connor (Leinster), Emily Lane (Munster), Stacey Flood (Leinster), Enya Breen (Munster).

Ireland team to face Wales
Eire group to face Wales